Why I’m glad that I was raised as a godless heathen.

Some people spend their entire lives trying to shake off the constraining shackles of their childhood.

Crikey, where did that come from?

My childhood was a veritable wonderland, but that sentence rolled off the keyboard remarkably easily.

But my point is the things that we learn, either explicitly or by osmosis, are hard to escape. They have to be deliberately railed against; the conscious decision to ‘not be like them’ or we don’t actually move away from them at all.

They are so much a part of our makeup that we can’t determine where our parents value systems stop, and ours begin.

Which is why I’m glad that I was raised as a godless heathen.

Let me explain…

It’s true that I used to wish that I had been raised in a Christian household. It would have made this whole ‘search for meaning’ thing so much easier. I would have a framework to relate to and there would be certain trace memories to fall back on in my journey.

But now I realise that there is much to be gained from not having this automatic recourse.

I’m sure that you have heard of movie stars who complain that it’s impossible to find  true love because they’re never sure if people are really interested in them, or if they just want to be with someone famous. Sort of emotional succubusses (succubi, surely?).

Well, I know myself well enough to know that that is precisely how I would feel about my faith.

I wouldn’t be sure if my belief in God was genuine, or if it was deep seated feeling of comfort that had been planted in me and was based more on habit than reality. I’d always be second guessing myself.

At least now, I know that any decision that I come to will be mine, and mine alone.

One thought on “Why I’m glad that I was raised as a godless heathen.

  1. Pingback: How not to suck at parenting. | The Aspirational Agnostic

Comments are closed.