It’s hard to be an honest blogger.

I went along to see an internationally renowned psychic last week. I attended one of his seminars last year aswell and it was one of the deciding factors that pursuaded me to finally attend church.

photo by Mulling It Over

I haven’t written about it, because I didn’t know how it would be received. I’m a people-pleaser, you see. I want to make everyone happy and I want everyone to like me.

(Which clearly isn’t working for me, because everyone doesn’t like me, and I seem to be surviving perfectly well. So maybe it’s not a big deal after all.)

There have been a few other things that I have considered writing about, but haven’t.  Which is directly going against what seems to be my specific niche (I admit that I’ve researched what makes a ‘good blog’ and finding your particular niche seems to be quite high on the list of must haves). The feedback that I have received, both from emails (ok, email. Singular) and in some comments has been that people appreciate my emotional honesty.

On a side note, I have tried many times through our my life to keep an diary and every time, when I have reflected back on it, I have been mortified by what I see as my self indulgence and wankery and have ripped it up. That’s why I begun to write a public blog. Firstly, I don’t feel as self-conscious when someone else is reading it and secondly, no ripping up allowed. Theres no way that this post would still be in one piece if it were in a diary, believe me.

Anyway, the censoring issue. I am so grateful of the support that I have received from the readers here, many of whom are Christians. I’ve been wanting to write about a couple of topics (psychics, ghosts and the attraction of other religions) but have felt reticent to do so because of my desire not to put people off or to be judged. Not that anyone has implied that this would happen,  it’s just me second guessing myself.

But given that what I’m trying to do is sort out my own thoughts and also to hear  about other people journeys then I need stop thinking about what people ‘want’ to hear, and record what I am genuinely thinking about. So, psychic/ghosty post to follow.

10 thoughts on “It’s hard to be an honest blogger.

  1. Don’t worry too much about what others think. No matter what you write or what you do in life, no matter how innocous you think you’re being, you *will* offend someone. Our species is just like that. Some people are offended that people besides them *breathe.*

    Er, psychics. I tend to be suspicious of them – and not for the way that Fundamenatlist Christians often are (“They’re communing with the devil!”) but more in the way that skeptics are. I am skeptical of them. I tend to think of them as people who know a bit of human psychology and are adept at picking up visual and verbal cues to “read” what’s on a person’s mind. Once, in an online forum I made some commentary to someone regarding their psychological state. I had this person completely amazed at my ability to “read” her and she totally thought I was doing some kind of spiritual magic when all I did was pick up upon things said in her posts that made me think she was wearing her issues on her sleeve. I thought “If mere dry observation is enough to get people to think I’m magic, I could get rich charging for this, except, no… I have…. that thing. What do you call it? Oh, yeah, honor.”

    I once visited a psychic’s site from a link where they were proposing that bipolar people might be repressed psychics. I thought “Oh, great, someone thinks I’m a special snowflake because I have a disorder. (This is like people thinking I’m magic because I can draw).”

    Hey, maybe I do have some kind of latent psychic abilities – I tend to just think I’m good at picking out people’s words – you know, “writer magic.” So, I tend to think that psychics are probably just people who know how to pick up on simple, sutle things and manipulate them to their advantage – which is usually flat and green and fits in a pocket.

    I always hold to the “I could be wrong” philosophy of life, though.

  2. A famous skeptic- here in Australia I think, pretended to be psychic using ‘cold reading’ techniques at a paranormal expo. After reading someone VERY accurately, they revealed that they has no psychic gifts whatso ever, and were just using particular techniques. The person who was read said that they MUST be psychic, they just didn’t realise it.
    ha!

    Eva x

    • It just shows that people who believe in one “silly” thing (like God) don’t necessarily believe in all “silly” things (Madame Foofoo at the street corner shop). I find that, at least online and in the media, very anti-religious/anti-spirituality people tend to assume that if someone believes one thing they don’t buy it means they’ll “fall for anything.” There’s actually a trope on TV Tropes for it: “If Jesus Then Aliens.” It’s annoying.

      This got me thinking about something funny in an anime I’ve seen. “Nichijou/My Ordinary Life” is a silly little school comedy with random weirdness. One of the minor characters is a young man who dreams of being a scientist and he as a couple of instances where he tries to disproove the supernatural only to be hoisted by his own petard in a completley non-supernatural way. In one of these snippets, he goes to a temple (Buddhist or Shintoist – I forget which) that was famous for preforming exorcisms. He plans to discredit the priest by pretending to be beset by demons.

      When he talks to the priest, he acts like he’s choking and tells him about how he feels invisible hands strangling him. The priest… offers him a cough drop.

      The boy ups the ante by acting crazier and the priest asks him if he has some kind of a problem, if he’s manic or something.

      Finally, the boy really flails around and accicdently knocks things over, and this escalates into him destroying the whole interior of the temple and the priest screaming at him to leave.

      And the narration: “Sometimes, people can be demons.”

  3. Eva, I am inspired and amazed by your honesty. I’m still scared by touching too much on certain topics, afraid that the ravening hordes will descend on me. As they can. But thankfully, they never have.
    I wish we could sit down to tea. This type of honest exploration is what we DO with people. Including all the discussion of the attractions of other religions, which I also have explored in depth. I’ve come to conclusions that make me more solid in my faith.

  4. I think it was Mother Theresa who said something like: It’s not about them, anyway. It’s about you and God. Like Moses at the burning bush, it seems to me, you are being drawn towards God through your curiosity in mysteries. (God does this a lot. In fact, “Mystery” is a good working definition for God.) I’ve grown up in the Christian tradition and it has served as a good discipline through which to explore the Mystery and know God a bit better. For me. This includes looking into things like ghosts, psychics, the paranormal, other religions, and so on. For many people, these are important avenues. In other times, they’ve been part of Christianity. I would never disparage these things because, for you, they may serve your journey. But I think it is important to have some sort of discipline, someplace to anchor your search so you don’t become distracted by every burning bush on the horizon. My sense is that you have a strong spirit and being distracted isn’t a real danger. In that case, practicing a discipline will help to focus your search.

Comments are closed.