Thankfulness

At risk of being seen only as someone who complains that God won’t return her calls or discuss where our relationship is heading, I thought
that I’d link up with the wonderful Rae over at Journey Mama, and indulge in spot of thankfulness.

Journey Mama was one of the first blogs that I ever read, back when we both had far fewer childen and she was not yet a published author.

Rae loves and trusts God in way that takes my breath away, and lives the life that I would like to live. If I liked travel, roughing it, spending time with other people, bustling cities or long train journeys, that is.

(Which I don’t)

I’m thankful, every day, that I can send my children to bed with full stomachs and warm blankets.

I’m thankful for the simple medicine that can take away their temperatures.

I’m thankful for daylight savings, and the way the sun touches the tops of the gum trees at 6 o’clock in the morning.

I’m thankful for the smell of jasmine outside my front door.

I’m thankful that I live in a part of the world where gunshots are barely ever heard.

I’m thankful for the fact that I’ve never yet had to find out just how much I can handle.

I’m thankful for the wind, and the breeze, and the butterflies that have started to dance across it.

I’m thankful for the peace that has settled over the house, after a beautiful weekend of playing and fighting, living and loving.

One thought on “Thankfulness

  1. Your words about me are so sweet. I love this, I love finding this blog, I love your journey, and I also love jasmine and butterflies and breezes. And how long we’ve known about each other! xo

Comments are closed.