The paranormal as a gateway, part one.

When the realisation suddenly dawned on me that religion was an entire heap of self-important crap, inspired by a kind of group hysteria and wishful thinking, and so, ipso facto there was no God, and when I made the big ‘I am an atheist’ call, it took me a little while to realise that ‘atheist’ actually means a complete lack of belief in anything supernatural.

Now I’m someone who always believed that there was ‘something else out there’- I’m close to people who claim to have had ghost experiences and I myself have had strikingly memorable dreams that have come true. (Mind you, I was never someone who just accepts any airy fairy thing that crosses my path. Start with me about homeopathic vaccinations and things will probably become very heated, very quickly).

But when I became a proper card carrying skeptic; a member of the organising committee for a national convention none the less, I renounced everything metaphysical, paranormal and not grounded in credible science. My eyes were opened to the truth, and the stupidity and gullibility of a really large amount of the world’s population.

I could talk on hot reading and cold reading and sleep paralysis induced hallucinations and the fact that with the number of people
dreaming every night its really not surprising that a couple of hundred dream about a plane exploding or a car crash on the night before it happens (although THAT bit still makes perfect sense). Masses of that is still valid. There are many many charletans out there, defrauding the public with magic potions and promises of true love waiting.

But now we have the well documented and much harped on still quiet voice that I seem quite preoccupied with.

Coupled with the fact that I’m still quite the skeptic, and I can’t shake the need for proof.

And then there’s the doubt, of course.

So, it occurred to me some time last year that IF I could find a legitimacy in the existence of after-life communication, and IF I could find enough evidence to convince me that ghosts exist, then this would be proof that the corporeal body is not all that there is, and that there is some sort of ‘soul’. Or at least the atheistic belief that when you die you die and that’s it, would be untrue.

If psychics are honest, and if experiences with ghosts are true, then it leaves open the possibility that there may be a God.

And once I make the jump from there being absolutely nothing after death, to there being something, then it would be much easier for me to go from that something to their being a God.

Now I’m just getting long winded and obtuse. Part 2 to follow…

10 thoughts on “The paranormal as a gateway, part one.

  1. With love I only want to make one comment that has just come to my mind while reading this post. God is God and as such will never allow us to prove his existence. That is exactly what faith is–believing without proof.

  2. Do you know what the weirdest thing is?

    A lot of people think that if they disproove the existance of the soul as being something beyond the physical body that they’ll disproove religion, disproove Christianity and can rejoice at killing superstition. It wouldn’t! Seriously, it wouldn’t! There are some schools of Chrisitan thought, some sects, that are monist.

    If I recall correctly, the Jehova’s Witnesses are like this and if I’m not mistaken, the Seventh-Day Adventists are, too (though I’m really not sure with them)… I do know that in some Christian thought, the dead are “asleep” and eternal life happens when Christ ressurects his own at the end of Time whereas the wicked dead either stay dead or are ressurected to go to Hell (though I think most of the monist sects think the unsaved just stay dead).

    So, get rid of the “ghost” thing and Christianity would still be left – ironically, some of the sects of it that people think of as “kookier” than normal, too.

    Personally, I don’t believe in Oblivion. I mean, even if the monists are correct, even if the athiests are correct, I’m pretty sure I’m going to “Heaven” or somewhere when I die because I think that we are all subject to our own perceptions and (if the materialist idea on what happens at death is true) – it’s not like my brain is going to be able to percieve beyond its death, therefore I will not percieve anything beyond it. Yeah, I’m weird, I know. It’s just that when I got knocked out for a dental surgery years ago, I didn’t percieve hours of a black oblivion – time just didn’t exist for me at all between drifting off and awakening. So, while I believe I have a soul, I figure if it turns out I’m wrong and I don’t have one, whatever my brain last experinces/makes me think I’m experiencing will be “eternal.”

  3. Ooh, good point. And people often tell me that none of this matters, because if there’s nothing after death then we won’t know about it anyway. Which is totally logical, but I still don’t like it 😉

  4. I am in a similar position myself these days. Not specifically looking for some proof but not settling for anything I don’t feel right. So, I would not try to prove the existence or non-existence of anything imaterial; I just keep my eyes wide open to whatever comes that way and dismiss the man-made absolutes.

    Youl’ll be better of I think, eventually.

  5. It sounds simplistic as I type this out, but science has all but proven The Bang theory, correct? What (who) made it all happen in the first place? It’s clear we have evolved as a planet and species. But what (who) started everything? That is my “proof” God exists. My children are “proof” to me God exists. There is too much beauty in the world for there to be no God.

    • Yes, the beauty thing does tend to get me every time. At church, we are creating a display of ‘thin places’- photos of places that we feel the presence of God in. Dawn, just when the birds wake up is one for me.
      Thanks Shell x

  6. Pingback: The paranormal, revised. « The Aspirational Agnostic

  7. Pingback: I ain’t afraid of no Holy Ghost « Recovering Agnostic

Comments are closed.