Franciscan Prayer

 
I posted this short prayer on my personal FB page, and my sister congratulated me on being brave and not worrying about what my extended family might think. See what I have to contend with 😉
 
May we be blessed with discomfort at easy answers,
half truths, and superficial relationships,
so that our lives have depth and vision.

May we be blessed with anger at injustice
and exploitation of people,
so that we work for justice and peace.

May we be blessed with tears to shed for those who suffer,
so that we reach out to comfort them,

 to turn their pain into joy.

May we be blessed with enough foolishness
to believe that we can make a difference in this world,
and do what others claim cannot be done.

– Based on a Franciscan prayer

(I absolutely can’t remember where I found this- apologies to the original author)

12 thoughts on “Franciscan Prayer

  1. May we generally be blessed and changed and always a little dissatisfied while being content. Continued ‘success’ on your journey… and courage to live the journey in front of folks who might not get it or think it’s awfully strange. 🙂

  2. Pingback: September Monthly Peace Challenge: And I Quote: Blessings of Hope | theseeker

  3. That’s a beautiful prayer, though…it seems like it might bring a lot of uncomfortable emotion. I tend to avoid uncomfortable emotions at all cost.

  4. Pingback: September Monthly Peace Challenge: And I Quote: Blessings of Hope | The Seeker

Comments are closed.