Choose your own tradition?

So I’ve been blogging for about a year now, and it’s time to take stock and see what conclusions I’ve come to over that time.

(Spoiler alert- not many.)

I thought that it would be good for me to reflect on this, just so I can know what’s happening with my progression.

Although it’s not a progression, is it? In the same way that evolution isn’t a progression. There’s no working towards a particular goal, with Homo sapiens being the pinnacle. It’s just a slow tramping along; no aim, just the opportunistic progression of life.

(It’s just occurred to me that if I’m trying to approach things from a more theistic sense, then I’d better look further into theistic evolution. I know that it’s possible to embrace the truth of evolution and still believe in a creator – but I’m going to need to refer to better minds than mine to see exactly how it’s done)

Religion is all about ideas. It’s all just conjecture, really. By ‘just ideas’ though, I don’t mean in an atheistic sense. I mean what we are dealing with are intangibles; concepts and suppositions. Maybe that’s why I’m so interested in it all. The worst case scenario is I get to spend my life thinking and discussing, the best case scenario is that I get to spend eternity on a cloud playing a harp ( actually maybe that’s the worst case).

Because there is no ultimate truth that we can be sure of. There’s no definite certainty that one religion has the mandate on righteousness.  It’s about acknowledging the concepts that you like and abandoning those that you don’t. Either it’s a question of becoming a fundamentalist and taking the Bible literally, or its a matter of deciding which bits of faith work for you and embracing them.

For me, the ‘best’ outcome would be determining whether God fits into your idea of the Universe and then establishing what exactly that means for you. If you do believe that there is a God, then how does that impact on your life? Does it actually have a bearing on how you live your life at all? Do you see it as an eternal leave pass or as something more pivotal to how you live your life?

Of course, it makes sense to embrace the faith tradition that comes most easily to you – the dominant faith paradigm in your culture. Christianity is the system that resonates most fully with me in a cultural sense. (Ganesha gives me the willies, I hate the whole impermanance of Buddhism, I’m fairly sure that I wouldn’t be a good Muslim woman and I’m crap at meditation so there goes anything with ‘Zen’ in the title). Although I’m not convinced that Jesus was the son of God either which may be a slight hitch on the way to Christian enlightenment…

6 thoughts on “Choose your own tradition?

  1. As a student of biology, evolution makes a lot more sense when you take God out of the equation. Biologist Jerry Coyne runs a web site off of WordPress (he despises the word “blog”) called Why Evolution Is True, based off of his most recent book. If you have time to browse the site, check out the hash-tag “theology” or “accommodationism” to learn more about how most evolutionary and molecular biologists feel about theistic evolution.

    http://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/category/theology/
    http://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/category/accommodationism-2/

  2. I’m pretty grateful that you said you’re not sure if Jesus was the son of God. I skip between Christianity and Judaism… I’m pretty much good with the concept of God, not convinced that the bible is the only way to interpret him and can’t quite work out how Jesus fits into it all….
    Confused, you will be!
    As for evolution, maybe that’s where I think there might be some intelligent designer at play aka God.
    To my mind it’s a bit like a sentence I read in a series of sci fi books by David Eddings – it talks about several Gods who are worshipped by different races but they have a Father who is called Ul. Now the sentence says that the universe was spun out of nothing but Ul was the spinner…. I’m totally down with that kind of concept! Intelligent design.
    Still, I would love to have the faith that I see so openly on some peoples faces.

  3. For what it’s worth …..

    1. I find it easy to believe in both evolution and God, because the evidence seems to me that both are true. That is the starting point. It is possible that one is true and the other not, in fact many people think that they are mutually exclusive, but they are not incompatible. So I simply accept them both, and sometimes think about how they might fit together …. and occasionally get an answer.

    2. I find it easy to believe Jesus was divine too. I have read a lot of secular historians on Jesus, enough to feel confident that in a secular historical sense, Jesus existed and did and said more or less what the Bible says about him. Once that is established, it seems to me his divinity explains things better than any other hypothesis.

    But I don’t think you have to believe Jesus was divine to start following him (though I think if you do you’ll end up believing he was divine).

    Thats’ how I see things, anyway. Thanks for the opportunity to comment.

Comments are closed.