Act Justly

image

I don’t know if I’ve posted this picture before; I did if just after Micah was born and it’s on display in the kitchen.

It is, of course, the wonderful quote from Micah 6:8. Even when I’m not feeling particularly God-dy, it’s a good message, don’t you think?

This idea has been weighing on my mind this morning, given the Australian Government’s new policy on asylum seekers.

The Rudd Solution

As have the words “Whatsoever you do to the least of my people, that you do unto me.”
(Matthew 25:40)

I suppose that the best prayer that can be offered up at times like these, for those inclined to pray, is wisdom for our leaders.

And compassion, and for decisions that are made for reasons other than to secure the most votes.

4 thoughts on “Act Justly

  1. Yes, politics is at a low ebb in Australia right now. While this new policy seems at first sight to be heartless, it depends what else they do. If they stooped boat people coming from Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, etc, but picked up a lot more refugees from Sudan and the horn of Africa, for example, then we would merely be favouring one group of needy people over another – tough for those who miss out, but good for those currently languishing in Africa. But I don’t know if that will happen.

    • I’m glad that I don’t have to make the policy, as I don’t have the answers myself. I just am concerned that this is an attempt to gain votes at the last minute, at the expense of the needy. Malcolm Fraser had interesting things to say this morning, although I don’t remember where I read the interview; probably ABC.

  2. For me, the most important 3 words in the Micah scripture are “with YOUR God”. I believe God is different for each of us and She (or He) is just exactly who we need. And, while God is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow, God changes with our needs and with who we are and who we are becoming.

Comments are closed.