This is uncomfortable, but…

My gorgeous 10 year old (the one who’s not going to Hell) is undertaking the 40 Hour Famine next weekend. This will be his second famine; last year he didn’t play with Lego for 40 hours which made for some character building moments, given that his younger brothers were free to play to their hearts content.

This year he’s opted for ‘no technology’ in the form of TV, DS, Wii and other acronyms along those lines. By rights I should be asking for donations to buy myself a vat of wine because, while I know that he will do it, he might not have a smile on his face for the entire weekend, if you know what I mean.

If you would like to make a little donation to a wonderful charity (and a fabulous boy) here’s the link—–> Jasper’s 40 Hour Famine Page

(Ack That was wierd. And uncomfortable. But, you know, the widows and orphans and all that…)

image

2 thoughts on “This is uncomfortable, but…

  1. Wow. That little quoted scripture from Micha really hit hard. While I don’t believe in the Christian God, I still find a lot of wisdom and conviction in scripture. Maybe because I came from that background? But that could be rewritten:

    “What does the universe require of you but to do justice, love kindness, and walk humbly in the world?”

    I think a lot of problems could be solved no matter what we believe with regards to a god if we just did these simple things.

Comments are closed.