Here’s to not being dead!!

Today is my 40th birthday and after two weeks that have seen the death of several acquaintances, I’m happy to be able to announce the fact that I’ve had the privilege of travelling around the sun fourty times.

After a morning of unwrapping lovely handmade gifts from the boys and self- bought but husband wrapped books and DVDs ( it’s better that way, I think) I’m sitting in my favourite local drinkeree ( it’s my birthday, I can make up words) having a coffee and a read.

I’m not a celebrator of birthdays ( well, more specifically MY birthdays. I’m a crazy person for other people’s). I’m not sure why. Not because I mind ageing because I absolutely don’t. They are just prone to make me cry a little rather than do the dance of joy. I’m not going to analyse it, I’m just going to drink my coffee and then spend the rest of the day doing my normal Saturday type things with my family.
Because normal ordinary everyday life is the best type of life, after all.

20131214-095659.jpg

10 thoughts on “Here’s to not being dead!!

  1. Well, happy birthday! They say 40 is the new 30, so you can test that out!

    Are you reading that book, or was it just a photo relevant to the post? If so, what’s it like?

  2. Pingback: Bloggingdom | According to Sam

Comments are closed.