I don’t like enthusiastic over- emotion but…

In my experience, once you become an honest to goodness grown up, praise and general ‘good-job’ type comments are pretty thin on the ground. Which is OK; I’m as uncomfortable with being congratulated or given any kind of accolade and the next person (who is pretty bloody uncomfortable with it, believe me). A mixture of not being used to it and finding it deeply unnerving and uncomfortable, I suppose.

But I want to take a minute to praise the grown up Thank You note.

20140201-072115.jpg

This is the cork board in my kitchen. A mixture of pretty things, kid things, things to remember, and also the home of two little letters. One was written to me by the mother of a boy I taught two years ago. She took a minute to pen for me her thanks, her appreciation of the time that I had taken to listen to him and to make him feel appreciated.

The other note was given to my husband last year by a young engineer that he mentored, once again thanking him for just taking time.

As adults, we are rarely thanked or told we are appreciated. We all just get the heck on with life. But it is something special to occasionally be told that what we do, matters.

So if you have ever thought of telling someone that you appreciate them; either something specific that they have done or just them in general then maybe it’s time to write it down.

The grown up who really feels that they can get on perfectly well without validation or approval or any of that crap thank you very much might just find that they appreciate it far more than they realised they would.

12 thoughts on “I don’t like enthusiastic over- emotion but…

  1. A couple of weeks ago I sent a card to someone in charge of a church program that builds wheelchair ramps for people who need, but can’t afford them. I didn’t think anymore about it, until he sent me an e-mail in which he said that he was in real need of encouragement that week. We never know when the simplest action can be meaningful. A good rule of thumb is if I am wondering if I should do something, I probably should.

  2. This may say something about me, but I definitely enjoy and appreciate getting compliments and thank-yous. Doesn’t happen often enough of course – wonder why?

  3. I believe that in every adult hides a little kid whooccasionally appears and wonders if we doing it right. Thank you notes just place us right back on the adult path.
    Thanks for the reminder Eva that we all need someone to validate us.And thanks for sharing your thoughts here with us.

  4. I loved this post! I live by this! If someone has touched your heart, then let them know! I know how much it means to me to know that I have done something meaningful for others, so I should give the same back. Lovely post! Thank you 🙂

Comments are closed.