Vegan for Lent.

Lent is a time of reflection, meditation and prayer and the practicing of self-discipline.

I’m really crap at self discipline.

For the past few years I’ve got into the habit of observing Lent. Reasonably lackadaisically at times I’m the first to admit, but I’ve done things like giving up cake and donating the money that I saved to charity (seeing an actual pile of cash that represents the amount of treats that you eat? That’s quite a reality check, let me tell you). Although I forgot about that one half way through so it wasn’t as much an exercising of discipline as a demonstration of my slackness and really short attention span.

I’m not actually much of an animal lover* so I’m a bit of a vegan-oddity and can’t really jump on board most of the whole vegan zeitgeist. I mean I don’t wish animals any actual harm but I personally don’t really find eating genuinely ethically obtained meat immoral. When my very very old cat eventually dies I’ll be less traumatized and more ‘thank god I never have to clean up after an incontinent feline ever again’. We’ve got cats and dog and goats and fish and chooks and out of all of them I love the fish most because they essentially require nothing of me. Which I like. Now that’s a species I can connect with.

But I do love the planet and eating meat really fucks up the planet. And I don’t like suffering and the dairy industry promulgates suffering. Taking on a way of life that truly treads lightly on the earth and committing yourself to a standard that refuses to absorb any form of sentient suffering surely must help us to connect with a higher consciousness? I know that I feel more…oh crap I’m going to end up sounding all bloody new Age-y if I go on with such inarticulate ramblings but let’s just say that I feel that being vegan for Lent is an appropriately disciplined and meaningful action to take. First it’s bloody difficult so pretty much exactly like getting nailed to a cross, and also it does good in the world so, Lenten appropriate, I think.

Big payoff (great for the planet, good for my soul) with a suitable amount of repentance (really bloody hard to do).

image

Anyway, I’ve changed all my passwords to ‘Imbeingaveganforlent’ so its TOO LATE TO BACK OUT NOW.

*although I have attempted to hand rear every orphan/ injured animal/ waif that has ever come my way so while I say I don’t ‘love’ animals I do seem to be pretty invested in them.

6 thoughts on “Vegan for Lent.

  1. i love lent! and i love ash wendsday- Because it was the kick off for fish fry friday in my home time. Lots of beer, fried fish and community. i might join you for a little lent action but I’ll have to pray about what to give up- my first inclining was “Laundry” but I don’t think that will fly!

  2. I did a vegan Lent two years ago — made it almost the whole way through, but I was finishing grad school at the same time, so out of convenience I added cheese and eggs back to the mix. (And oh, how I missed them!) Make sure you get some B12, though.

    Orthodox Christians traditionally have a vegan Lent.

    The thing that was most striking about eating vegan was the amount of processed food you could consume, and how if you weren’t careful, you could eat an entire meal made of soy. I wonder about the environmental impact of the packaging and the monocultures needed to make a vegan lifestyle work. I’m not completely sold on its ecological superiority. Curious to see how you find it.

    • Interesting you say that- I was just making stroganoff for dinner using a prepackaged vegan burger and though ‘ crikey, it’s lucky I’m not thinking about food miles’ because it was made in Europe. Hopefully I will be better organised and won’t depend on ready made things over the next few months, because buying sustainably sourced food is also something that is important to me. Importing from thousands of miles away isn’t that sustainable!

Comments are closed.