On filler posts and phoning it in.

I’m lucky to have great feedback from my readers. So far never nasty, and if it’s vaguely critical then it’s always constructive (of course even constructive criticism puts me into a decline but that’s my problem to deal with). One thing that I’ve been told several times is that people like this blog because I don’t write ‘filler posts’ and I completely get this. Those of us who are blog lovers can spot a post that has been constructed purely to fulfil a posting target a mile away and I’d rather leave this space quietly percolating for a while than write one.

But then I start to wonder whether my idea of a filler post is different from other peoples and whether my thoughtful musing is another person’s half assed unsubscribe- trigger. And then I wonder (because I wonder a lot, you know) because I’ve essentially blogged only about faith (apparently very honestly; ‘bravely honest’ as I’ve been told which of course puts me in mind of Sir Humphrey Appleby and ‘courageous decisions’) then I’m slightly nervous that if I move off tangentially at times and write about parenting or mental health or my feelings about ereaders (autocorrect just changed that to ‘dreaded’. That’s portentous) or lawnmowers, then the posts might be seen as fillers. Hopefully there’s a difference between a post where I’m just phoning it in and one where I’m heartfelt ( but not earnest because ugh) but maybe not totally in keeping with the title of this blog. So if I do…veer, as it was, them stay with me. I can bring it all back to spirituality if I have to though, in a ‘Thank you god for making this lawn mower work despite the odds, I’m so blessed’ or ‘My ereader stopped working just as I was looking up Matthew 6:13, it was Satan’* because that wouldn’t be contrived or awkward at all. Every one would really dig it if I went it that direction, right?

* funny thing, I had no idea what Matthew 6:13 was I just wrote down the first random thing that came into my head. On looking it up, little freaky.

image

5 thoughts on “On filler posts and phoning it in.

  1. I can bring it all back to spirituality if I have to though, in a ‘Thank you god for making this lawn mower work despite the odds, I’m so blessed’ or ‘My ereader stopped working just as I was looking up Matthew 6:13, it was Satan’* because that wouldn’t be contrived or awkward at all. Every one would really dig it if I went it that direction, right?

    LOL

    I doubt I’d unsubscribe over just any “filler”. But, I’m of the belief that one’s faith (or lack of it) informs not just formalized religious experience, but every facet of life.
    For instance, I believe in “the golden rule” as per Jesus’ teaching. It informs my choices of certain food and clothing items which have been reported to be produced by individuals who live under slave-like conditions.
    Blogging or discussing relationship issues, climate concerns, politics, or even an apparently miraculous response to a “silly” prayer is absolutely in line with the theme of your site.

    Of course, blaming God for consequences of an individual’s poor choices wouldn’t make much sense. But sometimes, God makes Himself known where we least expect Him in order to personally assure a questioning individual of His concern for their spiritual health.

  2. I think that living an ‘ethical’ life as you describe ( sweat shops, etc) is one of the important things that Christians should ( well, in my opinion that is) embrace. I see people who are ‘saved’ and then they’re good. No further action needed. I don’t like that.

    • I see people who are ‘saved’ and then they’re good. No further action needed. I don’t like that.

      I understand, Eva. While I’m not qualified to judge the soul of another, I do believe part of the problem we have within Christianity is that there is a big focus placed on “evangelizing” (which is good) but not so much effort put into properly educating believers in the way we should live as followers of Christ (very bad, but not impossible to rectify). The lack of instruction can leave “young” Christians unprepared to respond properly when life forces us to make tough decisions.
      If you ever have read the Apostle Paul’s letters to the Corinthian believers, you can see that he had to correct quite a bit of error in the way they were conducting their lives. Much of the problem was that they were still spiritually immature and simply didn’t know any better. They needed to be given direction and time to practice acting upon the principles they had been taught.

  3. I’ve been thinking about the same thing. Can I write about justice issues and diverge a little from time to time? I personally would be interested to hear your thoughts on other subjects and, since we’re probably not getting together for a good chat over coffee, writing seems like a good way to do it. Perhaps guest posting on blogs where the topic will fit? Then link from here to there.

    Happy to hear your thoughts, always.

  4. I do like your passion for justice issues but I think it gets to the stage where you cant be ALL PASSIONATE ALL THE TIME if you know what I mean. We need some levity. I think that as long as we keep our ‘voice’ then there shouldn’t be too many problems- if I suddenly added a ‘pin it’ button and wrote to try and make that happen then there would be problems (as I can guarantee about 70% of my readers don’t know what a pin it button is).

Comments are closed.