Re-defining Christianity.

My friend Eric recently wrote this article on the redefinition of the word ‘Christian’ and Progressive Christianity. It’s a great article and certainly worth the click over (come on, it’s 2 seconds. Unless you have my internet reception and then there’s a whole peddling monkey effort to be dealt with).

This paragraph, particularly, resonated with me;

If you have been sitting on the side lines trying to avoid the word Christian because of the stigma it carries, or because you can’t wrap your mind around many of the intellectual barriers, I bring you “good news” that the word is changing (in a way I believe Jesus would appreciate). I invite you to come on over and join the movement of “progressive” Christians who are swimming against the current, making space for education and reality within Christianity, and defining our own creeds on our own terms.

It would seem at this stage that I’m not going to be labelling myself as a ‘Progressive’ Christian even thought I think that I probably am one according to the definitions, but I’ll write more about this next week.

15 thoughts on “Re-defining Christianity.

  1. Interesting article. I found myself in agreement with much of what he said at the start, but not so much at the end. I think he has diagnosed correctly some of the problems with modern forms of christianity, but I think his “improvement” loses a bit of contact with the real Jesus of history.

    I guess you could count me as “half progressive” on his terms. (Seems to be my lot in life always to fall between two polarised opinions! 😦 )

    • I wonder how far you move before it stops being ‘Christianity’ at all. I mean, there must be a certain point where it is distilled so much that it becomes something else entirely? Something for me to ponder, I guess.

      • I guess it’s only human to think the way we see things is the “right” way, but on this only God knows and I’m not sure who has a direct line from him. I think one touchstone has to be the historical Jesus, understood in context, and the principles he taught and embodied applied into our quite different culture. We can’t be certain about all that of course, and I for one am always learning, but I feel God would have to be OK with that.

  2. Thank you for sharing this! I still very much hesitate to call myself a Christian, despite hauling my kids to Sunday School every week and spending time in prayer and Bible study daily. I recently told a friend that ‘closet Christian’ best describes nearly 20 years of my life. I was thinking earlier today that Science explains How Things Work while God explains Why Things Work, I see no conflict between the two.

      • Absolutely! Not to mention the baggage I have attached to the word. What’s been really eye opening is that in joining a progressive church I’ve received nastier feedback from conservative Christian family than from Atheist family.

  3. Eva, thank you for your “like” on “Like the Wind”. I think we are on a similar path. Your writing and independent thinking are terrific, as always!

  4. Interesting read. The Monkeys has to peddle extra hard since two iPhones are on line! That comment describes my internet issues out here in the sticks!

    It also describes much of Christianity I find here in the Red Bible Belt. But I personally would not go as far as the author did.

  5. Reblogged this on Intersections and commented:
    Hey, check out this article I saw over at The Aspirational Agnostic blog.
    It originally appeared at Progressive Christianity.org
    Sharing and following!

  6. Religious reinterpretation, of course, has gone on from the very beginning. Not to worry though as Christianity today is simply a reinterpretation of the Reformation which was a reinterpretation of Roman Catholicism (i.e. Christianity for the first 1,000 years of its existence) which in turn was a reinterpretation of Paul’s version of Christianity which was a reinterpretation of the teachings of Jesus – whew- and Christianity in general is based, in part, on a reinterpretation of Hebrew religious beliefs (i.e. the Old Testament). Even that isn’t the end of the string as the creation story was based on a reinterpretation of older texts. in other words, go ahead and reinterpret if it suits you.

Comments are closed.