It was a good idea at the time.

11196321_870530646325847_8037778683448301487_n

Behold, my food for the week. This week. It’s nearly over and I’m thrilled to have raised almost $800 dollars but I can freely say that I have not done this challenge with any degree of stoicism or grace.
There has been complaining.
There has been resentment.
There have been very few lessons learned at this stage because I’m hungry and irritated and cold (nothing to do with the challenge, it’s just freezing here).
On the up side I do not have any caffeine withdrawal to worry about. That’s because I swapped coffee and milk for the oats in the picture shortly after I realised that milk powder doesn’t transfer into black coffee as seamlessly as I’d hoped. So I gave up food before 12.30pm in order to keep my coffee and MY GOD I STAND BY MY DECISION.
I shall reflect and ruminate at a later stage, when I’m not feeling so bloody deprived and resentful, OK?
(Reflect on the fact that I’m a spoilt brat, very probably).

15 thoughts on “It was a good idea at the time.

  1. All I can say is well done for surviving without cracking. Complaining is totally appropriate.

    (o:

  2. That amount of food in the photo looks impressively small, Eva, I can only say I admire you. I’m sure that’s worth at least another meal to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. And you can gorge once the week is up! Mind you, that’s not really in the spirit of the thing is it? You’re SUPPOSED to be suffering.

    I did the 40 Hour Famine once, as a 15 year old. I managed to hold out for about three hours before I went for the Tim Tams. No self control whatsoever. And I grizzled for those three hours.

    You’re doing a brilliant job of being hungry and experiencing the discomfort. Think of the complaining as part of the whole experience. You’re probably doing it better than people who pretend that it’s all fine.

    (o:

    • Now I realise that the money people are donating to me is actually pity money, as in ‘oh my goodness he has no idea how bad this will be, quick, throw cash at her’!

Comments are closed.