No Room For Hatred

Powerful stuff.

Living a Life That Matters

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 8.50.05 AM

If there is one thing I have learned in my life, it is that there is no room for hatred. As a Holocaust survivor, I learned this long ago. It is what allowed me to move on from the darkest days in my life, through the death, the pain, the loss. To me, hatred is the root of evil. I live my life free from this feeling, despite what I endured.

A few months ago, I was fortunate to talk to someone I never thought I would – Rainer Höss. On paper, we are polar opposites. Rainer, well, his grandfather was one of the men who kept me imprisoned in Auschwitz, one of the four camps I survived before being liberated from Dachau.  Who killed. Who showed no mercy. No compassion. He killed thousands of people, including my family.

But, not Rainer. This man is like me, although from a…

View original post 1,614 more words

4 thoughts on “No Room For Hatred

  1. Yes, it was powerful, and very right! I’m so glad to have had the opportunity to read it. Thanks.

    I recall a similar story about Corrie Ten Boom, who had been imprisoned in an internment camp with her sister for aiding Jews in Holland, whose sister had died there, and others of her family elsewhere. After the war, as a christian, she went on a speaking tour with a message of reconciliation, and at the end of one talk a man came up to her, introduced himself as a prison guard who had been involved in her sister’s death. He asked for forgiveness and put out his hand. What was she to do? She shook it and forgave him, but said it was very hard.

    • That’s incredible. I might be able to go through the motions and SAY that I forgave him but I’m pretty sure I would hold on to the hatred in my heart. I don’t know. I’m thankful that I’ve never really had to know how I would react to something like this.

Comments are closed.