Peacing Out.

 

So at the moment, what seems to be incredibly therapeutic for me is reading about Francis of Assisi and listening to Dylan. Apparently I’m a 17 year old boy, but what ever works, hey? So it would be remiss of me not to share this song, which is more of a metaphor than a straight out love song. Of course, though, because it’s Dylan.

And given that TWO PEOPLE during the last month have read and enjoyed books that I have mentioned here on the blog, I kind of feel like a finger-on-the-pulse popular culture guru who sets trends all over the place, so it’s essentially a public service for me to share things I love.

You’re welcome.

 

7 thoughts on “Peacing Out.

  1. Ah that song takes me back! I was introduced to Dylan when a friend gave me his first album released in Australia, on my 18th birthday in 1963. This song was on his next album released in Australia. He made an enormous impact on me. So “17 year old boy” is pretty close for me!!

    • The Times They are a-Changing was the third album released in US, but first here, Freewheeling’ was the second in both countries (if I recall correctly). “Times” was quite a stark album (black and white cover, just Dylan playing and singing, and fairly pungent “protest” songs) while Freewheelin’ was more mellow (colourful cover, backing musicians on a few tracks, and a greater variety of songs – even some love songs!). I loved them both. His voice initially was a big shock after listening to the commercial folk music of Peter, Paul & Mary and the Kingston Trio, but for a young idealistic angst-ridden teenage boy, learning and caring about big social and political issues was a revelation. Later I came to appreciate his writing and singing, but at first it was definitely the protest and idealism.

      Interesting that you are a generation later than me but are still into him, and his early stuff.

      • I grew up on folk music (my parents were hippes) but no Dylan, for some reason. It wasn’t until later in life I moved away from Steeleye Span and Gordon Lightfoot and diversified a bit. But Bluegrass will always have my heart 🙂

        • Hey, what a great kind of upbringing to have! Well, in my mind, though of course the reality may have been different. I learnt a lot from the hippies. You must write something about it some time.

  2. It was probably more ‘Hippy-lite’ than the full blown lifestyle. We lived in a stone house that they built, milled our own flour, lots of flowing clothes a healthy dislike of the middle-class. But we were probably the ‘sell outs’ now I come to think about it, given all our neighbours were far more anti- The Man than we were. And we did wear shoes 😉

Comments are closed.